An Old Friend

Tap

Tap

Tap

 

Knock

Knock

Knock

 

BANG!

BANG!

BANG!

 

Just a second…

 

The shine of the officer’s badge

 

Authoritative posture

 

Hit me like a candle in backwoods darkness

The sound of the leather holster ‘round his

Waist

 

Familiar

Jaw clenching

Fist forming

 

Gun

Club

Flashlight

Handcuffs

                |

(The cavalry as it were)

 

Johnny law’s grubby paws

Knifing me

“I don’t mean to embarrass you” he said

 

I stood there in a gray

Shirt and oil-stained denim

 

Naked

 

Up, down

Up and down

Around and around

 

Cupped

Into the sleeves

Under my legs

 

One officer flipped couch cushions

 

Smashed my new ball cap

 

“So what’s the situation here?” he asked

 

“The situation…?” I thought

 

Blood is rolling

Like the water my eggs boil in

 

Voices…well hers doing her best impression of me

Bombastic

Blasting and ripping through the paper thin walls

 

Feet…well hers stomping through the paper roofs

Of this shit apartment complex

 

Jesus

It’s been a few years since the

Tap

Tap

Tap

 

Knock

Knock

Knock

 

BANG!

BANG!

BANG!

 

Was on my door

 

“Are those your posters?”

 

“Yeah” I said

 

“Cool” he answered

“Well it seems like this can be resolved”

 

I thought to myself

 

“No Mr. Policeman, I don’t believe it can”

 

“You two understand that I don’t want to come back”

 

If he did have to make a second visit

One of us

Would have some new steel friends

 

We went to sleep angry

 

As usual

 

I consider him an old friend

 

I don’t miss him

But it’s been a few years since his

 

Tap

Tap

Tap

 

Knock

Knock

Knock

 

BANG!

BANG!

BANG!

 

Was on my door

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

